2003 Wrangler R2.8 Build

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2003 Wrangler R2.8 Build

I'm hoping to solve some issue with this post. Just got my R2.8 running. Very impressive power. I'm running the 5-speed manual transmission and I integrated a GMC clutch that has the Jeep splines, onto the Cummins flywheel. Modeled and built my own bell housing - no adapters.
    My issue is utilizing as much of the Jeep dash as possible. I need a speedo/odo and a fuel gauge. The other engine monitoring comes off of the Murphy readout. I have left all of my Jeep OEM computers connected with the Jeep engine obviously missing.
    Has anyone figured out how to make the fuel and odo/speedo to work without an engine?

Welcome.
    As for the required items, I believe you need the stock ECM to run the stock guages. Normal recommendation is to replace with an aftermarket version.
    Im sure there is a way to make them work but being I am not an electrical engineer I cannot say how.

Post some photos of your bellhousing if you don’t mind!

Comment

I have the stock ECM still powered. Just no Jeep motor attached to it. Below is a photo of my bell housing. It mates the R2.8 to the Jeep 5-speed. Fabricated and machined. No adapters needed. It uses the Jeep hydraulic clutch slave and throw-out.

Comment

That looks great. I love seeing that level of custom DIY work. I have trouble when I do that because I have the tendency to over analyze and not get much done and my Jeep is my daily driver. So when I got ready to order the Engine I had to budget paying for basically everything else and I'd just be the labor.